Nancy Baur Dillen Art Teacher Scholarship

Nancy Baur Dillen, artist and retired Eastern Florida State College Art Professor, long dreamed of broadening opportunities for art educators to share, develop and grow – both as artists and as teachers, to better influence and inspire the skills, creativity, techniques of budding young artists. She and her husband, Rick, brought the dream to life by establishing the Nancy Baur Dillen Art Teacher Scholarship.

THE SCHOOL:  Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts is a national art education center, offering workshops for the beginner to advanced artist, taught by national and international practicing studio artists and university faculty. It has been described as magical and life-changing, inspiring, invigorating and more. Students work and learn in professionally equipped studios on a 14-acre residential campus in Gatlinburg, TN. Workshops and classes are offered in ceramics, fiber, metals/jewelry, painting, drawing, photography, warm glass, woodturning, woodworking, mixed media, books and paper. Visit to learn more and explore its catalog.

THE SCHOLARSHIPS:  Up to five art educators employed by Brevard County Public Schools will be selected to receive scholarships for week-long workshops at Arrowmont during the summer of 2020.  Priority will be given to full-time art teachers.  Applicants must be willing to stay on campus for the full learning experience.

SELECTION CRITERIA: The review committee will give priority to full-time art teachers and to applicants selected as alternates in prior years.  Selection will consider school distribution of applicants, prior art professional development experiences, learning and growth goals from the experience, and how the applicant plans to apply the learning to his or her classroom instruction.


  • Applicants may select any course at Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts and in any medium offered. Class sizes are small; thus, applicants are asked to list, in priority, three course selections in the event the selected course is no longer available.
  • The award will be paid directly to Arrowmont School and covers the cost of the course selected, on-campus lodging and all meals during the course, art supplies, and lab fees for the award recipient(s), only.
  • The award does NOT include travel, lodging, or meals en route to or from the facility. All travel arrangements are the responsibility of the scholarship recipient.
  • Recipient must complete the full course and receive a certificate.
  • Recipient must stay in on-campus housing during the workshop to benefit from the full experience.
  • Recipient must apply for re-certification credits towards their Florida Teaching Certificate.
  • Recipient is strongly requested to participate and showcase their artwork in an annual gathering hosted by the Community Foundation.

HAVE QUESTIONS? Contact the Foundation at or 321-752-5505

The 2020 cycle is now closed. Please check back in October of 2020 for details about the next scholarship cycle.

DEADLINE TO APPLY: Monday, January 13, 2020 by 11:59 p.m.

NOTIFICATION OF AWARD: No later than February 3, 2020


APPLICATION: Download 2020 Application

COVER SHEET FOR ARTWORK: Download 2020 Cover Sheet


    Enrique Cortes – Palm Bay Elementary School

    Marisa Flint – Edgewood Jr./Sr. High School

    Marguerite King – Cape View Elementary

    Amanda Lewis – Lockmar Elementary

    Carina Rachow – Astronaut High School

    Annamarie Zink – Eau Gallie High School


    David Blucker – Atlantis Elementary School

    Pamela King – Roy Allen Elementary School

    Deborah Johnston – Heritage High School

    Melanie Weilmuenster – Freedom 7 Elementary School

    Annamarie Zink – Eau Gallie High School


    Amanda Esposito – Lockmar Elementary School

    Marisa Flint – Edgewood Jr./Sr. High School

    Marguerite Goswick – Cape View Elementary

    Denise Liberi – F. Turner Elementary Schoo

    (Mary) Eliza Midgett – Mims Elementary School 


    Kristina Latraverse – Columbia Elementary School

    Ashley Heribacka – Manatee Elementary School

    James Finch – West Shore Jr./Sr. High School

    Amanda Shaw – Cambridge Elementary Magnet School of Art and Science

    Kelli Coats – Heritage High School