Community Foundation Awards $28,970 in Scholarships to Seven Local Students

MELBOURNE, Fla., (January 11, 2021) – Seven deserving students are closer to fulfilling their educational dreams thanks to fund holders of the Community Foundation for Brevard. These local students are the recipients of $28,970 in academic scholarships awarded by the organization to assist with their 2021 college educational tuition, books and fees.

Established by community members who are passionate about helping students achieve their dreams of higher education, scholarships are awarded annually to students in many different fields, including students pursuing careers in science and technology, accounting, health related fields and veterinary nursing.

Students are evaluated by an advisory committee of board members and community volunteers based on eligibility criteria established by donors at the creation of the scholarship fund. Scholarships were awarded from the following funds:

  • Norma S. Annabal Scholarship Fund
  • The Geraldine L. Cabic Charitable Fund Scholarship
  • The Culpepper Nursing Scholarship
  • The Pablo Enriquez Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Ella Josephine Goodman Horn Fund Scholarship
  • Missy & Tony Shannon Memorial Scholarship
  • Community Scholarship Fund

Through these scholarships, donors at the Community Foundation have opened doors of opportunity to local students and the impact is beyond measure. Congratulations to the following 2020 scholarship recipients: Kaitlyn D’Angelo, Jaclyn Keller, Synelibeth Lugo, and A’maris Smith attending Eastern Florida State College; Duli LaFlamme, University of Central Florida; and Liam Hunt and Hunter Kime, Florida Institute of Technology.

If you would like to contribute to the Community Scholarship Fund, please visit our giving page and select “Community Scholarship Fund” from the Foundation’s Funds & Programs list. To learn more about setting up your own legacy through a charitable fund or estate gift, please contact us at 321.752.5505.